Caturday Thoughts – Signs of Spring

robin on ground The days have been consistently warm even when the nights have gotten cold. This pattern looks to be continuing for a while. I hope so. This morning when I went out to put some things on the truck to go to the storage I saw two bunches of jonquils were blooming in the front flower beds. There were birds at the feeder outside the front window that had Skye chattering away in excitement. Yesterday I saw my first robin. For two years now, robins have nested on the front porch light and I have had to intercept the mailman. I don’t know if it will happen this year again or not. I love having birds nest where I live. It’s very life affirming, something much needed these days. I had to refill both feeders this morning. I think mating season is starting a little early and I hope we don’t have any surprise storms or wild drops in temperature. I can cover the plants but not the birds.

lilac bush in bloomIt looks like I’m going to have a lot of lilacs this year, too. It makes up for all the things the lawn goons hacked to death last summer before I found a decent service. The branches are covered in buds and I hope it winds up looking like the bush at right. We are getting rain. It’s slowly getting very cloudy and rain is forecast. I may not get the things into storage if it does rain. I’ll have to try tomorrow. Still I want things to green up. It was brighter outside earlier in the morning. There are other errands to run anyway, so I can do those instead. Another indication of a rainy day to come is that the cats are all curled up in balls, sleeping. How they sleep is a good indication of what’s coming weather wise.

Since everything is loaded I am not to concerned, there is a cap on the truck so nothing will get wet. I have writing to do so I can work on that this afternoon and evening. I really need to get cracking on my thesis. I am weeks behind on the deadline I set myself. The cats love it when I prop myself up on the futon with the laptop in my lap and work. They all climb up and position themselves in their favorite spots around me. Purring is very relaxing and helps me think. Sometimes I’ll read things to them to hear how they sound. They rarely have much comment but that’s OK. It’s still helpful. With spring in the air it is much easier to get motivated. This morning Cloud got himself all the way up on top of the refrigerator to go after a miniscule spider. Poor guy, when he batted it, it abseiled down the wall on it’s thread out of reach behind the refrigerator. He cried but there was nothing to be done, the prey had escaped. For me that was all right, sometimes I feel sorry for the spiders. In addition, it’s mountaineering move reminded me I promised myself I would get back to working out so I could start climbing again myself.

pair of jonquil blooms

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Cats, Health, Joys of Life, Natural World, Seasons, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Caturday Thoughts – Signs of Spring

  1. jamjet73 says:

    We had no winter in Kentucky this year. It’s so nice these days I’m temped to plant my Canna Lilie bulbs out in my big pots on my deck. =^..^=

    Liked by 1 person

  2. angela1313 says:

    I’m still too nervous to trust the weather just yet.

    Like

  3. jamjet73 says:

    Forgive me but I can’t seem to find where you are located, perhaps I’m in too much of a rush reading through your post to find out. =^..^=

    Like

Leave a Reply

