Caturday Thoughts – The End of the Season

End of SeasonI love going to the farmers market. I love having fresh safe food and knowing I am helping preserve open land and a sustainable way of life. I have gotten to know the vendors. But the city had done nothing to help promote or support the market and always has them closing earlier than other markets. Some of the vendors planned to come two or three more weeks but this week I got an emailthis Saturday the market will be displaced by some event  and there will be no further market days this year. In past years this was offset by the indoor stand down the street but last winter he closed because he couldn’t find anyone to work for him and this spring he did not bother to reopen.

bean-boxesI was hoping to do some canning this year but production was down for everyone. The honey lady did not have enough honey to sell until two weeks ago. The really hot weather decreases honey production for a number of reasons. It also caused Frank’s hens to stop laying. The other vendor who sold eggs did not come back this year. Neither did my tomato man who sold me large boxes of tomatoes for preservation. The new tomato vendor has a variety of heirloom tomatoes I like but doesn’t have that much for sale and again, the hot weather decreased production. He did provide some things others did not, like rhubard and early sugar pumpkins so I was sorry when he said he probably would not be back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI wonder on occasion if most people have any connection to their food. I know many of the students I tutored really had no idea where their food came from beyond the grocery chain. They had no clue how most food was processed or the kinds of inredients in it. I will miss asking Frank how his “girls” are doing. I know they are not crammed into stacked cages in an industrial type building and feel safe buying the eggs they lay. I stocked up on honey when the honey lady came, knowing she had a poor season and might not be back. People don’t realize you have to be careful to leave enough honey in the hive for the colony to get through the winter. With our crazy weather, that is getting harder to calculate. Even my own garden did not do well this year. I have three tiny pumpkins on the vime and some green tomatoes to show for the seaon at this point. There is some horseradish to dig up after the first frost that is from previous years. That will truly mark the end of the season..

 

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Food, Joys of Life, Life's Conundrums, Seasons, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caturday Thoughts – The End of the Season

  1. Lavinia Ross says:

    Farmers’ markets are wonderful places to shop. Sorry to hear your city is not more supportive of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

