Cold Dew hán lù 寒露 Oct 8th

Cold Dew

This Saturday, on October 8th we enter the period of Cold Dew (hán lù 寒露) the 17th solar term of the year. The night temperatures become cold enough to condense the moisture in the air to dew, but not cold enough to create frost. Each of the solar terms are divided into three pentads and the three for hán lù are  鴻雁來賓, ‘The wild swans and geese arrive as guests arrive” (my translation), 雀入大水為蛤, ‘The sparrows go into the big water for clams” (my translation), 菊有黃華, ‘Chrysanthemums all flowery yellow” (my translation).

By Tfr000 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

Technically, hán lù starts when the sun reaches celestrial longitude of 195° and ends at 210° longitude. Most often it refers to the day when the sun is exactly at 195°. Since ancient times, ecliptic longitude has been measured using the twelve zodiacal signs, each measuring 30°, a practice still found used in astrology. The signs approximately corresponded to the constellations crossed by the ecliptic. The ecliptic is the apparent path of the sun on the celestial sphere. In China, ecliptic longitude is measured using the solar terms, each of which is 15° longitude. The solar terms are used to keep the calendar synchronized with the seasons, very important in agricultural  societies.

Why do I think this has relevance in the modern, non-agricultural world? I could pile a two meter stack of medical and scientific research that shows lack of contact with nature is detrimental to physical and mental health. It is not hard to make this necessary connection. It takes just a few moments to stop and appreciate the small beauties that are there if you just look.

Cold DewI love this time of year for many reasons and one of them is the way the dew turns all the spider’s webs into jeweled nets on my tomato plants and shrubs, the fences of my neighbors and the tall grass at the back of the yard. It’s also one of my favorite subjects of photography. I am not doing much photography these days but I follow and admire the work of many amateur and professional photographers. Dew laden cobwebs are high onmy list of favorite subjects. I also love images of the vast structures of interstellar space but I have far more opportunity in daily life to observe the small things like the cobwebs, a meditating praying mantis or the cardinal pair tweeting each other from the fence.

I have very few of the ailments that plague most Americans, My digestion is perfect and i sleep solidly every night, waking almost exactly the same time every morning without an alarm. I can lift weights many of my contempraries struggle with and rarely have trouble opening stubborn jars. My blood pressure  is no higher than it was when I was in my twenties. I do as my cats do.  They enjoy their food but don’t overeat (except Mi Sun, no one is perfect), they stretch every day and have not forgotten play is important and importantly, they spend time observing nature, stalking any bugs foolhardy enough to tresspass their domain or watching out the window for the birds and squirrels and the blowing dry leaves, or any other thing that catches their attention. Together we mark the passing of the solar periods and pentads, connecting with nature and staying healthy,

Cold Dew

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Cats, Gardens, Life's Conundrums, Natural World, Seasons, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Dew hán lù 寒露 Oct 8th

  1. So intersting post, I really liked it. Swans and geese are here moving away to warmer places for the winter, and you are welcoming them for guests.

    Like

    • angela1313 says:

      Glad you found it interesting. Here where I live we have those coming south from Canada to us and those going further south who spent summer here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

