The Sounds of Spring Rain

file8221263947474

A long day is ending. The cats are arrayed around me on the futon, sleeping as I write except for Simba, purring loudly as my elbow, nudging and bumping for petting. I am listening to Projekt Erde 11:11. The cats like “space music” and so do I. It blends well with the sounds of the rain outside the window. At long last it is warm enough through the night to leave it open, at least on some nights. Tonight is one of them. It has rained all day, sometime heavily, sometimes tapering to nothing but now is a steady downfall. It mkes a gentle patter on the heavy plastic of the roof of my new greenhouse. It sounds in tiny metallic echoes down the water heater vent pipe. It gurgles out the downspout of the gutter, I can hear it through the bedroom wall. My walls seem thin as paper, expecially in the winter, and I only wish they were. I always loved the traditional houses in Japanese movies, where they did in fact open the wall to nature, sliding back the shoji panels.

file0001454972415

Still, the open window and the rain sounds are very relaxing and it was a long day, involving hours of driving and many errands.  There are four small cities around me, including the one I actually live in. None of them have a centralized stop for small business services so I am forced to travel three hours to the place where I formerly lived to my “office”. There is no diversity in the food stores here. Everything is mass market, lowest common denominator. Even the restaurant chains are for the most part fast food. So again I travel. The Indian neighborhood convenience store where I was living has a family of new owner’s. The son consulted me about products they could stock to appeal to the growing Hispanic presence in the neighborhood and it was fun to show him both things he could add to inventory and Indian products that might appeal to them. His mother special ordered for me the ayurvedic toothpaste that has helped me with my dental problems. Special order is unheard of here.  And we talked about the rain. Monsoon in Korea is not quite the same as India but it is still monsoon, so we compared stories. Then I drove to the bank and the Korean grocery where I do the bulk of my shopping. I had a delicious and inexpensive lunch of miso soup and sushi at the food court and told my hostess about the seed company I found which sent me seeds for all my Asian vegetables. And we talked about the rain and how good early rains are just what those Korean and Chinese and Japanese vegetables need.

file2611267495683

So it was a long and tiring day, although very productive. It was also very enjoyable. Coming home over the hills the rain clouds were broken and the sinking sun came through to contrast gold with purple and dark blue. The rain was not heavy and blinding so driving in it was not stressful and it came straight down so I could keep the window down and enjoy the clean cool air. I now I relax, having brought in all the shopping and put it away and fed the cats, listening to the sounds of spring rain. In the morning if it is clear, I will go out to see what has happened in my garden.  For the spring rain promotes fast growth and in a week my front beds went from this

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 to this

DSC_7203

A quick check of the forecast shows tomorrow and the following two days sunny and then three more days of rain. Just perfect to work the garden on the weekend and spend the work week writing, designing, drinking coffee and listening to the sounds of spring rain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Food, Gardens, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

