Relief at Last

My garden was almost non-existent this year with late cold and frost and sick cats and a neighbor’s dog who rushes the fence, growling and barking non-stop the whole time I’m in the yard. The humidity affected several plants that managed to survive the winter. I got a few strawberries and a couple of tomato plants are still producing but it’s not like last year. My herbs all came back except for the catnip but it set seed so I have three or four tiny plants.

I am through with getting up before sunrise to pull weeds. They are slippery with dew and I can’t get a grip. The alternative is in the heat of mid-day when the work is twice as tiring. All because of that dog. Last year the dog did not behave that way but this spring the people across the service alley moved. They had a big black dog which unfortunately they kept chained outside. He was a good dog, people liked him and talked to him and he only barked for a reason. The other dogs in the neighborhood followed his lead. Now his calming influence is gone.

I couldn’t even get relief from the heat and humidity in the thunderstorms because they passed to the north or south or formed and rained out to the east and west. I couldn’t get relief from that dog. I never yelled at him, I always spoke softly and acknowledged him. I get along with dogs, when I go to the pet store dogs that don’t know me at all pull on their leashes to say hello. I don’t know what the problem is but it gives just another reason for me to want the summer over.  I am going to dig up the summer bulbs and store them. Not a thing came up the first years I was here except a few tiny jonquils. By composting the leaves and yard clippings into the beds it apparently provided sufficient nutrients to encourage more and more different flowers to appear this year,  from grape hyacinths to day lilies to lilies of the valley. The place has been so neglected but there is only so much work I will put into a place I don’t own. So i can dig, divide and preserve the bulbs for my own enjoyment with only the cost of an hour or two of my time. The leaves will again cover the beds this fall and next year the spring bulbs will return.

Pumpkin spice flavored items are appearing in the stores and school is back in session. I am well ahead in my preparations for the winter. I look forward to the change to come and the chance to declare with great emphasis and happiness “Relief at last!!”

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Life's Conundrums, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Relief at Last

  1. melita03 says:

    That is pretty cool that some flowers budded because of your compost. I would love to see some pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

