Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

It seems the weather has developed the bad habit of oscillating between sunny fifty degree days and cloudy, snowy frigid days. My body is in a major protest. The snow had not started when I got up but a darker, gloomier, grayer day you could not imagine. Yesterday it was sunny and got up to 50 degrees.

I don’t care. I made a fire in the fireplace and started an oyster stew in the crock pot. I rearranged a cabinet to make room for groceries and found some cans of oysters. Not to waste them I started a stew. It certainly smells enticing although there is not much to it yet.

It’s actually more like Stone Soup because I wanted soup as soon as I saw it snowing but was thinking I really had nothing to start it with. Then I found the oysters. I had half an onion in the fridge. So just like the soup in the story it started to come together. Anyone who doesn’t know the story of the Stone Soup is missing something, especially if you have kids. My grandmother told me this story when I would help her cook. There are many versions in print, on line and I even found a video version when I searched it. I bought myself a copy of the version by Marcia Brown because the heroes were three soldiers, just like my grandmother told it.

In a nutshell, the soldiers come to a village to ask for food but the villagers hide everything. The soldiers then say if they just had a kettle and some water they would be content to make stone soup. The villagers have to see this, so a kettle and water are produced. The soldiers hunt around for a suitable stone and put it in the pot. Then the game begins. “Oh just a little salt and pepper would make all the difference!” Salt and pepper are produced. The soldiers gradually elicit a list of ingredients from the villagers and the finished product is an enormous kettle of soup they all share with much enjoyment.

So let it snow. I’m busy digging through the cabinets to see what I’ve hidden away, just like the villagers. So far, I’ve found some thyme and marjoram. I have the last of some light cream I bought. So what if I don’t have potatoes for the stew? So what if I don’t have crackers? I have a nice warm fire, a pot of stew started, the cats are sleeping peacefully and I’m having a nice quiet day. Please, let it snow.

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

