Enough of Winter Already

The new year blew in with freezing rain,frigid temperatures and high winds. The cats are sleeping more than usual and there have been a couple of staring matches over who’ll get the sunny spots. Cloud sits on the edge of my work table and meows his complaint that the window isn’t open. I have no intention of undoing hours of work sealing up that leaky old window just to prove it’s freezing outside and the sun is deceiving him. I know it’s not just the cats that are frustrated. My on-line herb group members are all about garden planning these days. So I’ve curled up with my books and cats to make my garden plan. I’ve had enough of winter already.

It took a bit but now my over-ambitious list is done. Top of the list, more bee plants. I have lavender, comfrey, catnip, thyme and spearmint. I want to add more and get some anise hyssop and peppermint. The lavender gets made into drawer sachets and goes into natural flea powder. The comfrey was long used in medicine but I just love the look of it. The rest attract bees and also go into wonderful herbal teas. When I make a cup of tea in the dead of winter on a dark cold day and stir in the honey it brings back the whole summer. Without the bees it would be impossible and they are struggling against disease, poison, loss of food plants and habitat. Anything I can do to help I will.

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enough of Winter Already

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Like you, I will be plants more herbs and flower plants this year. I only saw a hand full of bees in my garden last year and for the first time, I had to hand pollinate my squash blossoms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

