New Year’s Resolutions

Image

This year has been a mixed bag. But I always try to do better, since I can do worse without trying, thank you. In addition to my own goals I have been given a list of resolutions by guess who. You may not recognize the orange face, but if you have ever been had by a cat you recognize “The Stare”. It’s a half silent dialogue, a Zen paradox common in dealing with cats, and it goes like this:

“I know you often don’t get it so I will go slowly”

“Hi Simba. What do you want, honey?”

“Look into my eyes so I can use my psychic powers to penetrate your thick skull.”

“Are you hungry?”

“I want you to make New Year’s resolutions.”

“Do you want to get brushed?”

“Yes I do but it can wait. Are you paying attention now? Good. I want you to resolve to take better care of yourself. You need to live a long time so we won’t be left homeless. And just in case, you need to make a resolution to set up that pet care trust you’ve been muttering about. None of us are getting any younger. You need to resolve to earn more passive income. When you talk about “passive income” you use the happy voice, like when you bring us catnip. And we like it better when you spend more time at home. “Job” and “work” mean you go out too much. We are not fooled by the fake cheery voice you use to make us think you will not be gone long. We don’t think a long “commute” is good for you, whatever it that is. When you talk about it, you use the upset voice.”

“I guess you just want to be close for awhile. I should spend more time with you. I’m sure if I’m efficient I can make more time for you all. I need to get some time for exercise, though. How about some nice salmon for dinner? We should all eat healthy.”

“Great, I have penetrated. You are coming around. Salmon will be fine. And you can brush me now, thank you.”

Yes. It penetrated. I do need to take good care of myself for them and to ensure they will have the care and security they need. They give me joy and laughter and inspiration. They warm my heart and my feet. They keep me company and don’t judge. So I’m making all those resolutions. I wasn’t hypnotized even if Simba thinks I was, I’m doing it for love.

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Karen says:

    I laughed at the “I can do worse without trying, thank you.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

