Battening Down the Hatches

At the beginning of the week the temperature dropped like one of Wile E Coyote’s Acme Anvils. I was at a conference over the weekend and so got sucker punched like the coyote. The storm windows were up and the screens down. The chimney damper needed greasing. Monday the lawn guy came and did the last mowing and got the leaves out of the gutters and I’ve spent the week pulling down storm windows and filling cracks with spray insulation and gluing weather stripping to doors the don’t fit properly. Mostly it’s just busy work kind of stuff and some of what I did last year still holds, but those windows!

 Some day I will find out the name of the person who invented that window design so I can curse he/she/it roundly. The house is old, a somewhat neglected rental, but I’ve encountered these windows in some very expensive houses. One is forced to insert a finger into a tiny slot at the bottom of the window on each side and push a tiny slide back to free the catches. At the same time, using the same two fingers which are holding the slides in the out position by pushing toward the middle, you must push the whole window pane or screen up! I wear a four and a half size ring and have very small fingers which I can barely get into those slots. I don’t know how people with bigger hands do it. I always get pinched or break nails. And then the things stick like crazy being pushed up or lock into the next setting and you can’t get any leverage to push. I used a whole can of DW40 and three languages word of to get in all the cursing I wanted to do. I can’t be the only one who has a problem with this, but I guess I’m the only one who kvetches.

Actually after all the prep work is done, I don’t mind the winter that much. I look forward to some nice fireplace fires and I have the luxury of using the fireplace to heat and cook if we loose power. I have a lot of projects to work on this winter, altering clothes and making catnip toys from all the bags of catnip that dried in the attic. I may finally get to do some art work again.

 

 

 

 

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

