Alien Invasions

Last night I was reading in bed when I glanced up and noticed a lot of feline attention focused on the wall where the futon meets it. I should have known better but I couldn’t see what the fascination was, so I leaned over and pulled back the futon cover a little. What appeared were four legs of what promised to be a very large spider.  I yelled “Yah!” and dropped the cover. Before the cover even fell Tony was in there trying to dig out the spider, who, probably as startled as I was and sensing danger dropped out of sight immediately. I shoved Tony out of the way and banged the wall a couple of times to get the spider to clear the area. I really didn’t want to deal with a cat with a spider bite on the nose at ten at night. But where did it come from? It was a big hunting spider, not the usual little web weaver I get in the corners of the ceiling.

This morning I was sitting at the front room window this morning drinking my morning coffee when a racket erupted in the dining area. With cats, unless I hear the sound of breaking glass or howls of pain I don’t go running. I finished my coffee and finished petting the cat who wasn’t up to something. When I went to put my empty cup in the sink the two guys were hovering over something. It was a very small, very dead mouse. To Tony’s disappointment it went out the door.  Big game hunting is no fun in this house. I’ve seen no signs of mice before. I live in town in a neighborhood full of indoor/outdoor cats. Where did it get in? There must be more somewhere, but where?

There is a third invasion brewing. As I type this there is a swarm of stink bugs on the window screen in the office. More potential prey, more potential trouble. These screens are really cheap and I’ve already got to fix one. I think on of the big blackbirds got too close to the window and someone got overexcited. I wasn’t home at the time. Not only don’t I need ruined screens, I don’t need the stink. So far Tony hasn’t noticed but it’s only a matter of time. What to do, what to do.

It isn’t even cold yet.  These alien life forms need to stay out, for their sake as well as mine. After all, this world is the home of a Predator.

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

