Coming Home II

One of the things I don’t like about traveling is how things get backed up at home waiting for your return. You don’t get to decompress, you have to leave off doing your blog just when your head is full of ideas, and it’s not unusual for some new problem to crop up you’ve not had to deal with before.

But it’s much easier to get through all the travails when you bring home the kind of souvenir that adds no weight to your baggage.  I was privileged to have a seat-mate on the final leg of my journey who left me with a good feeling inside that’s hard to come by these days. 

When the captain announced rough air I asked her the time. She got the time and asked me why I wanted to know. I explained I studied meteorology when I was flying and that certain areas of the country produce certain airflows. The mid-west being Tornado Alley I calculated by speed and elapsed time we should be there, hence the bumpy ride. Just a few seconds later the captain announced our location over eastern Nebraska. That stated a conversation that lasted the rest of the flight.

She was studying economics and business at Cornell. She wanted to help her native country in Latin America. When I mentioned how much weather affects the economies of the world she said she had a science requirement and she had never thought of meteorokogy as an option. We talked about food and how ingredients travel to alter cuisines and cultures and how biodiversity is being lost in the developed world. I suggested a good sushi restaurant near here home.  she suggested some Peruvian ones for me to try. We talked about Cornell’s veterinary newsletter I get and how hard it seemed to be to find a good veterinarian. We talked about books and music and reading. I enjoyed the flight and the conversation so much, very happy not everyone is stuck behind a piece of electronics oblivious to the possibilities in the world, lost in trivia. I brought home the best kind of souvenir, the feeling that with such articulate, curious, bright and motivated young people in the world there has to be hope for a better future. 

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

