Cold Noodles

It looks like Jangma is over and hanyorum is here with a vengeance. I’m on the other side of the world now, but the weather is behaving in a very Korean summer fashion. Jamgma means the rainy season and we certainly had one. After that comes the hot, humid weather and I mean humid. It pitted my stainless steel silverware. Usually hanyorum starts at the beginning of August but since here we don’t really have a monsoon season I expect the difference.

In such appetite killing weather there is only one thing to do. Get up before the sun to boil noodles. There is no more satisfying way to fight heat and humidity than a bowl of cold noodles. Naengmyon was the first cold noodle dish I ever had and it’s still a favorite. I also love cold sesame noodles. I worked out a peanut free version so I could take it to picnics and potlucks without worrying about allergic reactions. Tonight, however, while my furry crew is demolishing some salmon, I’ll be having a big bowl of somen and watching Godzilla demolish Tokyo.

 

About angela1313

I am a cat lover, a writer, and an artist who is finally making time to work on my art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

